Certification is an acknowledgement that an individual has demonstrated the ability to meet the professional standards required by the translation and interpreting industry in Australia.

NAATI assesses translation and interpreting professionals against these standards so that English and non-English speakers can interact effectively with each other, particularly when accessing medical, government and other services.

NAATI certification permits translators and interpreters to quickly and easily demonstrate to clients and agencies their level of knowledge, skills and attributes.

Many employers and service providers will expect practitioners to have certification – it is difficult to get translating and interpreting work without it.

Click here to see our certification model.

Click here to use this wizard to work out what type of certification you may need. 

NAATI has developed descriptors for all NAATI credentials. These descriptors provide a general understanding of expected competencies for potential certification applicants and users of interpreting services.

Click here for the descriptors for each translator certification type.

Click here for the descriptors for each interpreter certification type.

Generally, there are three stages to the certification process:

  1. Firstly, you will need to meet the prerequisite requirements to be eligible for certification testing;
  2. Secondly, you will need to pass the certification test;
  3. Lastly, should you be awarded certification, you will need to recertify every three years to maintain your credential.

Click here to use an interactive wizard to work out a certification pathway. Or you can click here to look at the summary document. 

NAATI will commence certification testing in a small number of languages from March 2018. These languages include:

  • Spanish (translator and interpreter)
  • Chinese (translator only)
  • Mandarin (interpreter only)
  • Cantonese (interpreter only)

It is expected that certification testing will be run in between 10 and 15 languages by the end of 2018. NAATI will consider the volume of applications received, examiner panel availability and other factors to determine which additional languages will be tested.

Click here for our certification system FAQ.

Still have questions or are unsure? Email info@naati.com.au.